Fan Clubs (beta)

November 24th - £150

Guest Andrew

So just been doing a few rounds on the Internet and came across this from Gamesradar.com.

Wii will be released in the UK by 24 November and will carry a £149 price tag, according to reports by trade publication MCV.

The article, which appeared this morning at http://www.mcvuk.com, states an estimated timeframe for the arrival of the diddy machine, while also giving a fairly definitive statement of what the price of Nintendo's motion-sensitive console will be. MCV gives no clue as to whether the date and price revelations are based on anything more than its own unsubstantiated guesswork, though.

Nintendo has already announced a Wii event will take place on 15 September - next Friday - in London, where it is expected to finally reveal specific Wii launch details.

At the time of writing Nintendo was unavailable for comment, but we'll be hounding them for a response to this breaking news, so keep your eyes on GamesRadar.

Then in a seperate article....

The Wii console will not support DVD playback when it launches later this year, according to Nintendo's official site. This comes despite DVD playback previously being listed as a feature of the new console. But, in all fairness, does anybody care?

At the predicted price of £149, Wii is likely to be the perfect accompaniment to your other games console which, of course, has DVD playback as standard. And with standalone entry-level DVD players now shifting for less than 30 notes, picking up a player and a Wii console would cost you less than half the amount of shelling out for a PS3 next March.

So it looks like it's going to be November 24th and a price tag of £150 which is fantastic in my opinion. We will have to wait till this coming Friday before it's 100% official but wow. Great news. I shall be buying one.

http://www.gamesindustry.biz/content_page.php?aid=19573

They're definitely not right," says Nintendo UK boss