Fan Clubs | beta

Hogwarts Mystery

Guest Sim-antics

Guest Sim-antics
Has anyone else tried the new mobile Harry Potter game, Hogwarts Mystery? It has an interesting storyline, but I was expecting a little bit more from it. It's one of those "freemium" games. I was really hoping for a Sorting Hat quiz rather than just getting to pick my house, but I guess that's what Pottermore is for.

I started playing it but quickly got bored because I kept having to wait for my energy to fill back up. Once I start spending money on these kinds of games, I start spending a lot without even realizing it. So for me, this just isn't worth it. I was expecting more too. It also seems like it's set up for someone who chooses Gryffindor. I chose Slytherin and the story didn't really fit.

Guest North
Looks like I don't have enough knowledge of the series to recognize the differences like Hal. Am I going to miss a lot of things like that? Most mobile games have the energy fill system which is not very fun but prevents us from playing for too long at once.

Guest Sim-antics

@Hal: Like helping out the cowardly Gryffindor and befriending the popular Hufflepuff? I wonder if any parts of the storyline are different depending on what house you choose.

@North: I don't think that you would miss a lot of things if you aren't terribly familiar with the series. There are some little "quizzes" that you might not pass (and that's not a big deal) but I don't think it would affect you too much overall. That's very true! Waiting for the energy to fill really helps you not waste too much time on it.

Guest North
I ended up downloading the game out of curiosity. I was actually expecting more action, but it's understandable since we start as the new student. The fight with the 'first monster' could be more interesting if we could use more spells and gestures, but I don't mind. The plot is quite intriguing, so I'll keep on playing for now.

Guest Sim-antics