Fan Clubs (beta)

Infant sleep question. . .

Poppy

from a nonparent. I have no experience with babies beyond listening to my friends moan about getting up with the infant multiple times through the night. It sounds relentless and dreadful really. So, why do parents do it? Is a human baby unable to survive the night alone? Will it actually get sick if it isn't fed and changed throughout the night? I don't quite see why the parents can't just top it off with a bottle before they go to bed, then change its nappy and feed it again first thing in the morning. I'm sure it will cry, but a good fan will block out the noise. I'm sure I've raised a daft set of questions, so you can probably see why I'm asking online under the cloak of anonymity instead of asking one of the parents I know.

When my daughter was born, we were told by the nurses that she had to be given a small amount of milk every 3 hours throughout the night, but that only lasts a few weeks as far as I can remember. All babies are different, and we were lucky in that after a couple of months she would sleep throughout the night. I think a good trick is to put them to bed a bit later than normal so they are really tired!
  • Heart 1

from a non-parent. I have no experience with babies [?QUOTE]

That's fairly obvious dear.

Is a human baby unable to survive the night alone?

Barely, but yes. Why take the chance, right?

I'm sure it will cry, but a good fan will block out the noise.

So will a muzzle, but since its not a dog........

I'm asking online under the cloak of anonymity instead of asking one of the parents I know.

Good call. LOL

Babies are brand new to this bodily function things, so they do stinky things and loud things. Leave a diaper on overnight and they get rashes or worse. It isn't life threatening, but it's a baby. Does it need to be a life threatening situation to do something for a baby?