Fan Clubs (beta)

Announcements

Mike
Message added by Mike,

There will be announcements and features that change before the final release. If you have questions or feedback, please let me know in this thread. Thank you.

• 4 months later...
11 hours ago, worm said:

I found the forum looking for active communities, a reddit post got me here. I thought it was a new forum but there are posts from 2006, so what's the story?

Hey @worm. Thanks so much for joining! I'll do my best to give the cliff-notes version.

• I've been working on building a community for fans since 2013, which started under the name Deadicated Fans. It was blog-focused to start, with the goal to be a community for Die Hard fans. If you hang around, you'll probably see it referenced here and there.
  • A multi-community forum has always been something I tried to make a reality, but I've never been able to get much traction. Forums aren't really booming at the moment and many of them have been killed off by social media. Having an empty forum with one registered user and no content didn't really bode well for me.
  • In 2020, I came across an inactive forum for sale that was a decent fit for my target audience. I was able to work something out with the owner and began merging it with Deadicated Fans. With the existing content, I've been working on cleaning up the structure and building some of the existing sub-communities that had enough existing content to fill it in a bit.
  • The name Deadicated Fans is close to me since it's been with me from the start, but it's not very brandable or easy to explain to people. I finally was able to get a domain that ties everything together with FanClubs.org, rolled out a new platform site-wide, and I'm just continuing to push forward.

That's the best I can do to summarize the last 10 years working on the site. I'm hoping you decide to stick around for a while. It'll take some time, but new posts are what's going to help this community come together.